Karnatak University, Dharwad


The Bombay legislature of the erstwhile Bombay Presidency established Karnatak University through the Karnatak University Act 1949. It became a statutory University on 1st March 1950. The jurisdiction of the University covers Dharwad. Gadag, Haveri and Uttar Kannada districts. It has several Post Graduate centres. The University (888 acres) is offering courses in the faculties of Arts, Commerce, Education, Law, Management, Science and Technology and Social Sciences. Symbolic of the University’s vision and mission the emblem of the University consists of papal tree at the centre, an open book. Figures of a bull, a rising sun and the legend ‘Arive Guru’ i.e., Wisdom is Guru, implying that both wisdom and knowledge should be all pervading like the ramifying papal tree and light up the world with knowledge and eradicate illiteracy.

There are 51 PG Departments, 154 teachers and 4500 students (PG, M.Phil., Ph.D.). The girl students constitute 47% of the total strength, including PG Diploma, M.Phil and Ph.D. Courses. 6% of the students are from outside the State. To eliminate social exclusion and promote social justice, seats are reserved for SC/ST, Cat-I, Minorities, OBC and BC categories in accordance with the policy of the State Government. One seat each is reserved for the children of ex-servicemen, freedom fighters, physically challenged and sportsmen. The University has its own High School (University Public School) since 1964. Which meets the practice requirements of the B.Ed. College of Karnatak University.

There are 5 constituent colleges offering UG and PG courses in science, arts, commerce, fine arts, law and education. There are 21 hostels in all, including a working women’s hostel and ladies hostels. These provide residential accommodation to 2600 students of UG and PG courses. Over the last 70 years the number of affiliated colleges has increased from a mere 34 to more than 250.

The University has 3 PG campuses, at Haveri (42 acres). Gadag (32 acres) and Karwar (6 acres) all of which are district headquarters. All campus are self-contained and are at various stages of development. They cater to the needs of local people as well as promote specialized studies. For instance, the course on Pulp and Paper Technology is run from the premises of the West Coast Paper Mills, Dandeli (Uttara Kannada District). The University provides wide options ad choices – 50 PG Courses, 4 advanced diplomas and 28 diplomas, 11 certificate courses, 26 M.Phil., and 42 Ph.D. programmes. Most of the Departments incorporate interdisciplinary components in designing their curricula keeping in view the emerging thrust areas. During the last five years new technical courses have been introduced to compensate the loss of medical and engineering faculties and the consequent loss of revenue to the University. There are several self-financing courses. Including an integrated course in Master of Tourism Administration, e-Commerce, M.Com. (Corporate Secretaryship). M.Sc. (Applied Genetics). M.Sc. (Biotechnology). M.Sc. (Computer Science), M.Sc. (Microbiology), MBA (CBCS), MBA (evening programme), MBA (International Business), MCA, P.G. Diploma in Bank Management P.G. Diploma in Risk Management and P.G. Diploma in Animation and Graphics.

The University identifies the regional needs and overall development of students of this backward region of north Karnataka. A large number of students suffer from lack of communication skills and opportunities to develop their personality. The University has considered the region specific and community specific needs and has introduced (a) Computer Applications, (b) Environ mental problems and Human Rights, (c) Indian Constitution and (d) Development of Communication Skills and personality as compulsory papers at the UG level. Periodic ICT workshops are conducted for students and staff (teaching and non-teaching) to equip them with the skill to access and utilize electronic information. The central library is equipped with thousands of books on all subjects. Journals and educational CD-ROMs. The University is part of the UGC-INFONET which affords access to more than 5000 electronic journals for advanced study and research. A full-fledged Computer Centre has been set up in the Students Home. All the class rooms are equipped with modern teaching and learning aids including audio-visuals, slides and LCD projectors.

For those who are unable to pursue regular UG and PG courses opportunity of higher education is extended through external and correspondence modes in the Faculties of Arts, Commerce and Social Sciences. The University has been attraction students from various countries like UAE, Nigeria, South Africa, Bangladesh, Iran, etc. The Department of Foreign Languages offers courses in Russian. German and French languages. An International Student Advisor has been nominated to cater to the needs and problems of the foreign students. The main campus in Pavate Nagar comprsing 750 acres houses 51 Departments, Central Library. Auditorium, Stadium, Badminton Hall with Gymnasium, Employment Information and Guidance Bureau, Students Home, Academic Staff College, Health Centre, Prasaranga, SC/ST/CAT-I/BCM/Cells, 2 Guest Houses, 2 Banks, a Post Office, a Canteen, Printing Press, Museums in Kannada Research Institute, Museum of Animals and Plants in addition to a Primary School. The University has been awarded with the coveted ‘University with Potential for Excellence’ (UPE) by the University Grants Commission with a financial assistance of Rs. 50 crores for undertaking research activities and development of campus amenities. In all, the University provides a congenial ambience for advanced learning and shaping ones career.

2022. Karnatak University Dharwad. All Rights Reserved | Designed & Developed By : SmarTec IT Solutions